Elizabethtown

So I was reading another blog, and the author had listed a quote in her bio that caught my eye. The quote was “I’m impossible to forget, but hard to remember” and when I looked it up I found it was from the movie Elizabethtown. I also saw some other interesting quotes from it and thought to myself You know, this seems like a movie I’d like to see. So I checked and sure enough it was on Netflix’s Watch Instantly so I sat down and started it.

I’ll give you a brief backstory as to why I thought this movie would interest me. My grandfather just passed away and we (my father, mother, and I) just got back from California yesterday. Now my family is quite complicated. My grandfather divorced my grandmother and remarried to a Greek woman, the family kind of split in two. To make this story shorter, my father moved out east and the rest of the family stayed in two different parts of California. So, with that would of the way, the plot for Elizabethtown is this: a young businessman flies to Kentucky for his father’s funeral where he sees the other half of his family (he lived on the West Coast with his mother and sister).

That right there was enough for me to want to see it, but I saw that it was also listed as a comedy and I needed a laugh. It was filled with a lot of dark humor, a lot of jokes about suicide and death, but it was equally filled with hope and life. The movie touched on the absurdity of how things are, and how people interact and cope with loss.

I felt like this movie helped offer closure for the funeral I just attended. It laughed at the ridiculous that my father and I also found ridiculous. It explored the tension among the family in a manner similar to what happened on our trip. The road trip from San Francisco down to Morro Bay, a five hour drive through scenic California was mirrored perfectly by the road trip across the country in this movies conclusion. Throughout the first 3/4th of the movie, I felt sad even though I was laughing at parts and enjoying it, but as it neared to an end joy overpowered sadness and I ended the movie feeling truly refreshed.

All in all, I feel that this movie ended the fiasco my father so truthfully called “My Big Fat Greek Funeral.”

Leave a Reply

