Step back and think

You know, there are a lot of things that I never really thought about.

The other night, I was lying awake and thinking about a discussion I had had with a few friends on Facebook. The center of this discussion was Time, what it was, how it exists, and why it matters. This lead me to thinking about science in general and then I had an amazing thought.

We really are an amazing species, humans, as we are constantly trying to understand things better. Our theories are passed down and taught and this is what really astonished me. When I was in school, I hated it. I didn’t fit in, I was scared and I just felt so alone (this is worthy of it’s own post, but that will come when I feel like it).

Anyway, I started to realize that education was just never explained to me, or maybe I just never understood it until now. Everything we are taught in school was discovered by someone else, and that person thought it important enough to tell someone else. Math, science, history – it’s all amazing to me now. To think that people came up with all these math equations and all these scientific laws.

The most defining characteristic of humanity, in my mind, is our ability to collaborate on just about anything and that amazes me to no end.

/ramblings

Leave a Reply

